Random Thoughts So Far In 2014

So every year, I say that I’m going to write a book, or start a website, or blog more. I am now almost a year out from my last post on here, so don’t look for that book on Amazon, or search for my website on Google anytime soon. Right now, I am sitting next to a pool in the thriving metropolis of Junction City, KS while my wife attends meetings this morning. I have been looking for ways to be more productive, be healthier, be more organized, blah blah blah. Same crap that every other American says on January 1st every year. And by the end of the year, 92% of people will not have achieved their goals. I am out to change that personally this year. I normally would have turned on Disney Junior or PBS or some other mindless junk for my kids to watch on tv and I would have played around on Facebook or Twitter or read every sports article on the net while channel surfing. Not today. After a battle with my son on whether or not he needed to drop a deuce before we went down to the pool, (which subsequently was won by me after making him sit in there for 10 minutes) I got them in their swimsuits, grabbed a book, notebook, and my iPad and have actually been reading a book and taking notes while they play in the pool. As gay as it may sound, I am reading Bethenny Frankel’s book on life. It is full of great time managers, meal ideas and other stuff to help anyone become more efficient. It took me awhile to get past the stereotypes of a stay at home dad, so I will read any book, male or female on stay at home parenting. And as cute as you may think they are, the Procter & Gamble “Thanks You, Mom!” commercials piss me off to no end. Every Olympics these commercials come out, and every time it portrays ol’ dad as being non-present in his child’s life. I know that this is the case for some kids, and there is a name for these people, they are called assholes. But, the majority of the country have dads that are present in their child’s life, or they have a real man that loves this child’s mother so much, that he is willing to step in and be a father figure to them. I will climb off my soap box now. This is the first time, I have sat down with a book and taken notes since my 5th freshman year in college. The kids are content, we are the only ones at the pool and I feel like I have accomplished something, even though I am 136 miles from home. Facebook and Twitter are starting to lose their luster and I fully believe they are incredible time assassins. 9 times out of 10 I ended up thinking what I posted on either site was stupid or non-productive. Unfortunately, we have become a society that it so dependent on social media, it is hard to not use them to keep up with the world. And as I have said before, it is my water cooler for work. But, I still think that if I cut down my time on these sites, clean up who I follow and refocus my time, that I can accomplish a whole lot more. No, I’m not deleting my profiles or anything like that. I have become extremely good at travel planning, either for Hilary’s job, or for personal trips. I would rather spend my time writing on here, getting the house and our finances organized and running like a well-oiled machine, so that we have time to travel more. (Side note, while I am deep in thought, my kids are trying to figure out how to recover Jacquie’s goggles from the bottom of the hot tub. Caleb keeps turning on the bubbles, and she wont climb all the way in to get them. I picked a great time to wear jeans to the pool) Goggles recovered!!!!

Leave a Reply

